Sign up to receive our regular news and events announcements – we send about one newsletter per month.

Open Right

The Aurealis Awards, established in 1995 by Chimaera Publications, the publishers of Aurealis magazine, aim to recognise the achievements of Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror writers.

These awards are intended to expand the scope of other awards by recognising writers in varying categories of speculative fiction, rather than addressing the genre as a whole.

The shortlist for the 2010 awards was announced earlier this week, and the winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in Sydney in May 2011.

Booked Out congratulates all of the finalists and would like to recognise the Booked Outers who are finalists in the following categories…

CHILDREN’S FICTION (told primarily through words)
Grimsdon, Deborah Abela, Random House

CHILDREN’S FICTION (told primarily through pictures)
Night School, Isobelle Carmody (writer) & Anne Spudvilas (illustrator), Penguin Viking

Guardian of the Dead, Karen Healey, Allen & Unwin
The Life of a Teenage Body-Snatcher, Doug MacLeod, Penguin

Shakespeare’s Hamlet, Nicki Greenberg, Allen & Unwin

Find A Speaker


Browse by Audience
Browse by Type
Browse by Location